Nine Deadly Sins with Coffee – Part Three

Alexandra had texted me to say that she was already at the coffee shop, if I was around . . . the message also said, “Anything that purports to be a Truth Machine is worthy of a little prep.”

Despite this, when I arrived it was just after 08:30, the car park machine having eaten my first lot of change without giving me back a ticket. It was one of life’s little happenings; the sort that could trigger useless anger – something I very much wanted us to talk about, given the stressful life that I knew Alexandra led.

I arrived to find her sitting at our usual table. Spread out before her was a new serviette, a blank CD, a small ruler and a pen. She had reconstructed our previous drawing with more accuracy than the totally freehand approach allowed, yet was still being true to our principle of the hand’s touch being important.

She fixed me with an amused stare. “Better?” she asked me, with a glint in her eye.

“That’s really quite professional looking . . .”

She passed me my coffee. I sipped it while she filled in the numbers ‘1’ and ‘2’; dividing the arc from ‘9’ to ‘3’ into three equal segments.

“Homework finished!” she said, truthfully. “Now why doesn’t ‘lying’ feature in the list of sins you gave me?”

It was a very acute observation, and no less than I expected. “So is ‘lying’ the only one missing?” I chuckled.

“I looked up a modern list,” she said with a smile, pleased to be one step ahead of me. “It was given as: wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy and gluttony – no lying!”

“Not even in it’s more generic description – ‘deceit?'” I asked, innocently.

continue reading 800 words

Leave a Reply

