Storm winds

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

northern sky

I wake to darkness and silence; the only sound that of the wind howling like some demented beast. The only sensation a heaviness of the limbs and a strange tickling on my face. Not even any traffic noise from the road at the end of the lane. It has to be still the middle of the night.

It takes me some time to work out where I am. Even longer to realise that it is five in the afternoon, not five in the morning and the tickling is the dog checking on me. I’d sat down for a minute after work and the night with no sleep had caught up with me.

The silence is complete, wrapped in the rush and roar of the winds that isolate this portion of existence, separating it from the knowledge of a wider world. I cannot hear any evidence that another human being exists…

View original post 338 more words

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

