In A Vase On Monday – Simply Heavenly

Eliza Waters

Ages ago, when I was in my late teens, I walked down a sidewalk along a tall wooden fence. I smelled the most heavenly scent and had to know what produced it. I boosted myself up to peer over the top and spread below me was a huge carpet of lily of the valley (Convallaria majalis). I pledged then and there that some day I would have the same.

Today, I have several of my own carpets of lily of the valley, which continue to increase annually. I let it run wild, delighted with its sweet scent for the short time it is in bloom. I fill vases and tuck them all over the house. I fall asleep in a cloud of its deliciousness.

The small creamer pitcher is English Royal Crown Derby, an heirloom once belonging to my mother-in-law.

Thanks to Cathy at Rambling In the Garden, who hosts a weekly meme…

View original post 19 more words

Leave a Reply

